Starting over – where soul meets body

On the anniversary of moving out of home, two things have struck me. Firstly how quickly everything can change and secondly how quickly time goes by. Excuse the cliche but time really does fly. With Spring here and its charm of all that is new and beautiful in life, a new blog and new start is exactly what I need. “Out with the old and in with the new” they say. But, what is new? When I looked up the definition of new, it never occurred to me that there could be so many meanings. There is one that stuck out the most for me at this point in my life. New: of a kind now existing or appearing for the first time. “New” for some, can be new shoes, new haircut, new car. But for me “new” is about embracing the old, savouring those moments and to draw on in those unexplained moments of nostalgia. Isn't it so wonderfully spectacular that we have the freedom to change our minds and to begin new chapters in our lives. My mind most days is full of all the wonderful things I've had the pleasure of experiencing, my career, family trips, first love, friendships and then some of the not-so-good stuff which I sometimes wish I could delete forever, because remembering it only brings a kind of pain that burns into your chest.

Here's an extract from a song that makes feeling new and inviting change much more pleasurable than we often assume

Death cab for Cutie – Soul meets body

I want to live, where soul meets body,

and let the sun wrap it's arms around me,

bathe my skin in water cool and cleansing and feel,

feel what it's like to be new.

Cos in my head there's a grey hound station,

where I send my thoughts to a far off destination,

where they may have the chance to find a new place,

where they far more suited than this.

This song for me means that in moments of distress, sadness or just simply moving out of a town; change happens. That starting new can be as uplifting and welcoming as bathing your skin in cool water.

So with all this said here's to the wonderful world that is change, whether it's for the better or worse, it happens… Embrace it, let it take you, as you never know what could be around the next corner.

Leave a Reply

