Jelly Cookies

Baking has always been my “therapy”, quite strange seeing I am not the greatest fan of cakes and sweets but nonetheless there is always someone my fiancé around to taste my baking creations.

Baking is something I usually reserve for special occasions; birthdays, anniversaries, Sundays (ha ha) but on this cold winter day it's just what I feel like doing.

I like to do things which pack the most punch for the least amounts of effort. If you are one of those, then these are for you.

My real reason for baking these jelly cookies and not traditional sugar cookies is because they sounded so unreal that I had to try them myself and I am delighted at the outcome. Not to mention all the ingredients used were ones I already had in the cupboard. 1 point for Danielle – hooray!

Here's my real quick and easy orange jelly cookies

Okay I admit I cheated with the pre cookie mix but they are flop proof. The recipe on the pack is the easiest to follow. Ensure you put your oven on 180 degrees and line a baking tray with baking sheet.

  1. 250g of baking margarine creamed until fluffy *(you should add your food coloring here)
  2. 500g of golden cloud cookie mix (If you like to eye ball it, it's half of the pack) added gradually into the creamed butter.
  3. 30ml (2 tablespoons of water)
  4. makes a easy to manage dough like this

At this stage I realized I wanted my cookies to be orange in colour, OBVIOUSLY they are orange flavoured. I suggest you decide on a colour in the beginning. *You would add the gel food coloring or the not so fancy ones like I've used in with your margarine creaming stage. If you like to make your life a bit more interesting then you can add it when your dough is formed. I added 5 drops of yellow and 2 drops of red to make a orange colour. I should also mention if you choose to add it here – you could land up with stained hands.

Place the dough in cling wrap and place in the fridge for approximately 1 hour.

Now for the baking. I emptied the contents of the jelly into a saucer. These are jelly cookies afterall!

Take you dough out the fridge and roll out a ball approximately 4cm in diameter. However this depends on what size you want the cookie to be.

 

After you have rolled them out, roll them around in the jelly powder until they are covered. Place on your prepared baking sheet and press them flat. I wanted a smooth finish so I flattened them with the bottom of a glass.

Bake for 20 minutes.

At this point I was as excited as a kid on Christmas morning. You need to keep watching them as they don't go golden brown like normal cookies. When they were done there was this zesty sweet orange smell lingering in my kitchen.

Put them out to cool and enjoy with a cup of tea like this.

Chewy and crumbly at the same time. I enjoyed baking these as much as I we enjoyed eating them. I am sure these would be great in all the other jelly flavors too.

Enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

