Friday off, cake bake off

The one thing I really do love about being in education – school holidays! We have been so quiet at work that our boss was kind enough to give us a day off.

We had quite an eventful day, early this morning we took Leila our German short haired pointer to be “fixed”. Shame poor Leila, she is NOT very impressed.

Apart from our very sorry-for-herself dog, I had one of those super productive days. We are moving in less than 4 weeks and I have slowly but surely been organising and decluttering one room at a time. I was so pleased with myself I decided on the last minute to bake a cake. The cake came out so well I took photos. Here's to productivity and fabulous friday cakes.

I am a bit of a cheater with the cake premix but REALLY!!? The premix is flop proof and easy to follow. My rules are if it's for a special occasion bake it from scratch yourself, any other occasion use a premix.
 

Looks good already, see I told you, FLOP PROOF! Follow the instructions on the pack, I really love theWoolworth's brand, I have tried others in the past, they were just as good. The premix provides you with everything all you need to add are 3 eggs, oil and hot milk. EASY PEASY!

Once the cake is mixed, pour it into a well greased pan and bake for 55 mins at 170 degrees Celsius. Once it's baked through, allow to cool on a drying rack and then get ready for my favorite part.

 

I love icing sugar icing, I don't eat butter/margarine so this one is a no brainer for me. The great thing about the icing is you can use whatever you like or appeals to you. I used icing sugar, speckled eggs and 100's and 1000's. A small tip, I find the icing sugar rather sweet so I like to add some lemon juice to the icing mixture.

Looks good!

 

Leave a Reply

